Uganda in China

 Embassy of the Republic
   of Uganda, Beijing, China  

The Ambassador |Facts |Foreign Affairs |Photos


 Uganda in China
Politics & culture
Travel advice
 Investing in Uganda
Investment authority
Tourist board
Students in China





China established diplomatic relations with Uganda on Oct.18, 1962. During the period of 1962-1985, the bilateral relations witnessed a steady development in spite of changes of governments in Uganda. However, high-level exchanges between the two countries were relatively few.
Uganda supported the resolution on the restoration of China's lawful seat in UN at the 26th General Assembly in 1971. The bilateral relations entered a new stage of development after the National Resistance Movement of Uganda came to power in 1986, with the bilateral co-operations expanding and high-level exchanges increasing. Uganda backed China at the sessions of Human Rights Commission of the United Nations in 1996 and 1997. Uganda supported China when she put forward a draft resolution concerning the maintaining and observing the in the UN in 2000.

The Chinese leaders who visited Uganda include Gu Mu, State Councilor (April 1987), Qian Qichen, Foreign Minister (Jan. 1991), Li Ruihuan, Member of the Standing Committee of the Political Bureau and Secretary of Secretariat of the Central Committee of CPC (July 1991), Chen Muhua, Special Envoy of the Chinese Government and Vice Chairperson of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress (April 1992), Jiang Chunyun, Vice Premier (April 1997), Tang Jiaxuan, Foreign Minister (Jan. 1999) and Xu Jialu, Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress (Jan.1999), Jia Qinglin, Member of the Political Bureau of the Chinese Communist Party and Party Secretary of Beijing (July. 2000).
The Ugandan leaders who visited China include Prime Minister A. M. Obote (July 1965), Vice President P. Muwanga (August 1984), Foreign Minister Ibrahim Mukiibi (Jan. 1987), President Yoweri K. Museveni (March 1989 and Jan. 1996), Second Deputy Prime Minister & Foreign Minister Paul K. Ssemogerere (March 1989), Foreign Minister R. Rugunda (Jan. 1996), First Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Eriya Kategaya ( 1992 as Second Deputy Prime Minister and April 1998) and Second Deputy Prime Minister & Minister for Tourism, Trade and Industry Brig. Moses Ali (July 1999).
First Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Eriya Kategaya came to China to attend the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation/Ministerial Conference Beijing 2000.




@ 2002 - 2018 All rights reserved.